Fantasy Verses Reality

 

"Where Does Free Will Begin And End?"

2005-08-02             1:41 a.m.

 

 

how do we as individuals decide what we should and shouldn't do? I mean, how do you chose what is proper for yourself when other's are offended and what do you do when those affected are children? That is the topic for today; at least for right now anyway.
Recently, jenny decided that she was gay and wished to take on the life style that best fits her internal feelings. The problem lies with my youngest two children. Karin and Ellie both think that seeing their aunti kiss and hang on another woman is gross and wrong. They have been very blunt with their feelings to the point that we needed to speak to them separately. This is where I am torn.
As a bi-sexual female I am all for same sex relationships. I had pretty much decided that what ever two people do is their business but then the recent events have made me confused. I guess that because I have never shown public affection with another woman in front of my children that I've never thought about their feelings. I've never shown public affection to a woman in public at all for that matter so I have never had a reason to look around at the public responses to the actions. Top it off by the fact I have never actually had my gay or bi-sexual friends show public affection in front of me I guess I was simply ill prepared for the recent events.
Part of me feels that people have the right to be happy and shouldn't need to hide their loving relationships from anyone especially family. Then, there are the feelings that I as a parent have the right to raise my children how I see fit and I do not want people telling them differently. Example: drugs, religion, sexual attitudes, etc. Therefore where does free will really fit into the picture. who has the right to decide what others see?
Jenny is the happiest that we have seen her in a long time, however she is isolated by the kids who want to hold on to their aunti but do not wish to see her show affection to her new partner. Jen has a tough choice ahead of her. She must choose to either force her life style on two kids that feel grossed out, which will make them feel like their opinion doesn't matter or she will have to go else where to do those actions and spend less than the normal amount of time with the kids she adores. If she chooses that the girls will feel abandoned and like she doesn't want to be around them any more because they told her they don't like what they are seeing. I am glad I am not the one w/ this decision. I told Jen that IF she chooses to spend more time away that I hate to say it but that she may need to tell the girls anything except that she is w/ Rayna. I don't like lies and I don't normally suggest such things but I also know that sometimes there isn't an easy way out and you have to do what you have to do. This maybe one of those situations.
As for me I will support her decision and will continue to try to create open minded children; after all, they are going to have to get use to it as more and more couples come out of the broom closet and it becomes more of a in your face reality. I just wonder what other people think about the issue.

You can read older entries by visiting the achieves on the right. Thank You For Visiting!

 

My Photo

About Me:

My name is Jesilyn. I'm a forty year old mysterious spirit. I have survived the depths of poverty; experienced the wrath of wealth, studied psychology & several religions, evolved from a jagged family background where I suffered the hands of abuse, and now I stare life�s challenges in the eye.

The Cast Of this Diary

Favorite Quotes

"The glass isn't half full or half empty. It simply needs a little ice."

"I maybe the queen of broken hearts but I don't stand behind the crown"

"If your ever going to see a rainbow you've got to stand a little rain."

"Good things come to those who wait."

"Life is what you make it."

"When life gives you lemons: Make lemonade!"

 

WARNING:

This is my diary. You are a guest. So, please respect my sacrid space, as you would want someone to respect yours. Remember, I do NOT have to keep a public diary. I do this so that others who have similar situations, do not have to feel alone...

Contact Me:

Email

Notes

Facebook

Blog Archive


2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

(2008 Vacation)

2009

2011

My Other Blogs:

My Life Story

T-E Self Help Library

True Emotions Country Cooking

True-Emotions Poetry

Ask Angel Advice Column

My Research Blog

Fantasy Verses reality V.2

Credits

Graphic/Template

 

Diary Hosted By:

 

 

This Diary Is Written, Maintained, & Copy written By :Jesilyn 2001-Present