Fantasy Verses Reality

 

Ethics from Heaven (written for Class)

Friday, Jul. 13, 2007             2:44 a.m.

 

 

Ethics from Heaven

By: Jesilyn

Abstract

Moral Development is an ongoing process throughout a person�s life. From the moment a child begins noticing the actions of others until the last breath an individual takes, their moral concepts are changing directions. Therefore, if asked to place these events into three to five pages it can become quite challenging to a person especially if that person has suffered through excruciating circumstances such as parental alienation, child abuse, neglect, sexual abuse, and abandonment, etc. Therefore, the following document has been uniquely constructed in order to inform others of how the author�s values were born and provide credit to a special individual for her ethical investments.

Ethics from Heaven
"Karin" a voice shouts across the grassy plains of heaven. "yes mother," a second voice replies. "come see what your daughter is up to now." Karin walks slowly over to the gates of heaven and peers down at a young woman below. "What do you see mother?" she asks. "Well, Karin, if you look closely you may notice familiar qualities about her." "Well mother... Jessica looks like me," says Karin. "Yes, she does, but this isn't what I mean." says her mother. "Look closer." Karin sits and stares at her daughter. Suddenly, she realizes what she is seeing. Her daughter is writing an essay about values.

The mother's eyes begin to water as she looks back over her child's life. "Mom, she really has so much to tell." The grandmother softly replies, "Yes Karin I know, she has been at this for hours, has already discarded one copy and started a new one. She doesn�t know what to do because her life has been so hard and she must tell her story in a unique manner in three to five pages." Karin shakes her head and looks at her mother in dismay. "What do you mean that�s impossible?" She is a survivor; this alone makes her story about values full of details and extremely hard to write!" "I understand that, but she has to complete this assignment." Karin considers what her mother has said and takes a moment to reflect.

As a fluffy cloud forms over Karin's head, scenes from Jessica's life drift through the heavens. Each memory reflects her daughter's strengths. She suffered many years of abuse, and has learned compassionate that now serves as the stepping-stones she needs to understand and help others. She had faced more than her share of set backs, and through those she learned persistence will help her reach her dreams. Alone, Jessica worked hard to earn the boots she needed in order to pull herself up by her bootlaces, and carry on after I was killed. So, Jessica learned independence. "Mom, I wonder if she knows how proud I am of her? I wonder if the instructor who reads her paper will understand how unique she is?"

The Grandmother softly stares at her daughter, saying, "Karin, when you were alive, you did everything in your power to teach Jessica right from wrong. You modeled how important an education was at twenty-two when you returned to school and got your GED. You showed her the importance of responsibility, dependability, independence, and public service as you worked five days a week for eleven years at Butler County Department of Human Services. You spent your life touching the hearts of those around you and never once discriminated against anyone no matter their external appearance, financial status or living situation. Maybe you didn�t know it but she admired you so and has taken your ambition, dedication, generosity, empathy, and accomplishments and is using them to better our family, her community, and herself.�

Karin looks down at Jessica. Taking her mother by the hand she says, "Mom, it�s hard to admit, but as always you are right." Then, together they walk away knowing that the young lady below will continue to bring pride to their hearts.

Conclusion

As you can probably see from the story, my mother has been a huge influence in my life. But, what this story is incapable of telling is how I learned about the importance of integrity from her death. As strange as that sounds it�s true. You see with all the abuse and trauma in my life my mother and I had spent years apart. We had only mended our relationship six months prior to her murder. I obviously learned the hard way that you never really know what you have until it�s gone. I say this because as I sat beside my mother�s casket, People from every walk of life stopped to talk to me. Some would say, "Jessica, you don't know me; but, I was a client of your mother's and I want you to know how much of an inspiration she was to me." Others said, "Jessica, I knew your mother her entire life. She really was a courageous woman and I'm going to miss her."

You see, listening as each told their touching story of what my mother did for them, watching their eyes and their body language, and feeling their pain opened my eyes for the first time to what my mother had accomplished in her short life. It was then that I realized that even though she had faced years of turmoil and heartache that she had touched the hearts of so many people, and had left a legacy full of integrity that would live forever in the hearts of those she knew and loved. It was that day that I learned it's the quality of life that you lead that makes all the difference. Therefore, as I reflect on my past and that of my mother, I remember the loss; but, more so I remember the lessons. Maybe with any luck I too can leave behind a legacy of integrity and values. Maybe one day I too will be remembered by others the way my mother is still remembered today.

You can read older entries by visiting the achieves on the right. Thank You For Visiting!

 

My Photo

About Me:

My name is Jesilyn. I'm a forty year old mysterious spirit. I have survived the depths of poverty; experienced the wrath of wealth, studied psychology & several religions, evolved from a jagged family background where I suffered the hands of abuse, and now I stare life�s challenges in the eye.

The Cast Of this Diary

Favorite Quotes

"The glass isn't half full or half empty. It simply needs a little ice."

"I maybe the queen of broken hearts but I don't stand behind the crown"

"If your ever going to see a rainbow you've got to stand a little rain."

"Good things come to those who wait."

"Life is what you make it."

"When life gives you lemons: Make lemonade!"

 

WARNING:

This is my diary. You are a guest. So, please respect my sacrid space, as you would want someone to respect yours. Remember, I do NOT have to keep a public diary. I do this so that others who have similar situations, do not have to feel alone...

Contact Me:

Email

Notes

Facebook

Blog Archive


2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

(2008 Vacation)

2009

2011

My Other Blogs:

My Life Story

T-E Self Help Library

True Emotions Country Cooking

True-Emotions Poetry

Ask Angel Advice Column

My Research Blog

Fantasy Verses reality V.2

Credits

Graphic/Template

 

Diary Hosted By:

 

 

This Diary Is Written, Maintained, & Copy written By :Jesilyn 2001-Present