Fantasy Verses Reality

 

Im an eclectic

Friday, Jul. 13, 2007             2:53 a.m.

 

 

1.2 The Powerpoint and chapter reading discusses six ethical moral theories. Which theory do you think you follow. Explain why.

By nature I am an eclectic being. I believe that the only way to learn about a subject is to study all aspects of the topic and after which I pick up small details from each area. So it came as no surprise once reading �Cooper� that I could not chose one of the six theories to relate to. If anything, I found that I relate to bits and pieces of each theory. Let me see if I can explain�

As a Pagan, my primary moral values lay in equality (for both animals and humans alike). This means that I truly attempt to treat everyone and everything the same. I believe in self sacrifice and submitting to what�s in the best interest of everyone involved. (For instance my theory of inmate rehabilitation) This part of my personality places me in the �Utilitarianism� theory category.

It�s my opinion that it�s this type of behavior that actually separates us from the animals and shows us that nature and humans are different. Which makes �Kantain Duty Ethics� appeal to me. It says animals act for them selves and humans are capable of acting out of duty. It also says that rewards and punishments aren�t always the key to such actions that it�s purpose lays much deeper. It suggests that people don�t want to feel used but that they want to be helped to reach their goals in life and that some simply need more help than others.

Of course, education has also taught me to look at things from a much deeper reality and with that comes integrity which means honesty. This allows The �Social Contract� theory to slip in with it�s no group is truly equal. We obviously live in a multicultural world where people are judged on norms that change like we change clothes, food and all other aspects of our world. It makes it hard on the whole ethic thing especially when humans are self centered aby nature and ultimately seek pleasure for thy self which means that even I have a small part of the �Ethical Egoism� theory in me. For example, There are times when I buckle under pressure and don�t always follow what I believe to be right such as speaking up against someone in power.

This brings me to the final theory the �Discourse Ethics� theory. I believe everyone should have a right to be heard so long as they are �asserting real beliefs� and backing up their arguments w/ evidence. That in it�s self is one of my major reasons for doing what I am w/ my education. I don�t feel our society allows people to be heard or that it values those who try to be heard.

You can read older entries by visiting the achieves on the right. Thank You For Visiting!

 

My Photo

About Me:

My name is Jesilyn. I'm a forty year old mysterious spirit. I have survived the depths of poverty; experienced the wrath of wealth, studied psychology & several religions, evolved from a jagged family background where I suffered the hands of abuse, and now I stare life�s challenges in the eye.

The Cast Of this Diary

Favorite Quotes

"The glass isn't half full or half empty. It simply needs a little ice."

"I maybe the queen of broken hearts but I don't stand behind the crown"

"If your ever going to see a rainbow you've got to stand a little rain."

"Good things come to those who wait."

"Life is what you make it."

"When life gives you lemons: Make lemonade!"

 

WARNING:

This is my diary. You are a guest. So, please respect my sacrid space, as you would want someone to respect yours. Remember, I do NOT have to keep a public diary. I do this so that others who have similar situations, do not have to feel alone...

Contact Me:

Email

Notes

Facebook

Blog Archive


2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

(2008 Vacation)

2009

2011

My Other Blogs:

My Life Story

T-E Self Help Library

True Emotions Country Cooking

True-Emotions Poetry

Ask Angel Advice Column

My Research Blog

Fantasy Verses reality V.2

Credits

Graphic/Template

 

Diary Hosted By:

 

 

This Diary Is Written, Maintained, & Copy written By :Jesilyn 2001-Present