Fantasy Verses Reality

 

Telemarketing is "Situational Control"

Friday, Jul. 13, 2007             2:57 a.m.

 

 

2.1 Describe a time when you felt you were in a "situational control". Describe how you not appear to be acting in a free manner.

According to the powerpoint presentations, this means that you have been placed in a situation where you are not allowed to do what you believe to be ethically right. So I�m going to reflect back about ten years to a time when I worked for Market U.S.A, the third largest telemarketing agency of 1998.

Back then I had just left my job as a manager of Donato�s Pizza and became a telemarketer. I had learned the difference between a verbatim (read only what was written) script and a flex (make your own) script. Now, I�ve always been big about only selling what I believed in but this place gave that a new meaning. They had different campaigns. With each campaign came different scripts and obviously I was suppose to do as I was told. At first I did this with no problem and I was good. It was nothing for me to triple or even quadruple the bonus every day. But then one day they placed me on a new campaign.

I recall that the campaign was offering the customer some type of discount card but it was plainly a rip off. As I read it over, I just couldn�t find one single thing that I thought was bentifitial and because of that I simply couldn�t become excited about it. By the end of the day I was upset not only because I hadn�t bonused but because I felt I had done something wrong.

Long story short, I went to my supervisor and explained my dilemma. He in return changed my campaign. Of course later I realized that this is what made them the leading company because they cared that much. Other companies I attempted to work for did not care such as when I worked for 5 Star Security.

5 Star would call people from the little papers they dropped into the boxes at malls to win cars and tell them they won 3rd prize. I just could not lie like that. And yes, I would tell EVERYONE that just about everyone who filled out one of those papers got that security system�. But then I�m not just any telemarketer� I guess that�s why I�m here and not there any more� *giggles*

(You've got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything)



You can read older entries by visiting the achieves on the right. Thank You For Visiting!

 

My Photo

About Me:

My name is Jesilyn. I'm a forty year old mysterious spirit. I have survived the depths of poverty; experienced the wrath of wealth, studied psychology & several religions, evolved from a jagged family background where I suffered the hands of abuse, and now I stare life�s challenges in the eye.

The Cast Of this Diary

Favorite Quotes

"The glass isn't half full or half empty. It simply needs a little ice."

"I maybe the queen of broken hearts but I don't stand behind the crown"

"If your ever going to see a rainbow you've got to stand a little rain."

"Good things come to those who wait."

"Life is what you make it."

"When life gives you lemons: Make lemonade!"

 

WARNING:

This is my diary. You are a guest. So, please respect my sacrid space, as you would want someone to respect yours. Remember, I do NOT have to keep a public diary. I do this so that others who have similar situations, do not have to feel alone...

Contact Me:

Email

Notes

Facebook

Blog Archive


2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

(2008 Vacation)

2009

2011

My Other Blogs:

My Life Story

T-E Self Help Library

True Emotions Country Cooking

True-Emotions Poetry

Ask Angel Advice Column

My Research Blog

Fantasy Verses reality V.2

Credits

Graphic/Template

 

Diary Hosted By:

 

 

This Diary Is Written, Maintained, & Copy written By :Jesilyn 2001-Present