Fantasy Verses Reality

 

Ethical Events

Friday, Jul. 13, 2007             3:22 a.m.

 

 

2. The human service worker is working with a family that has many overwhelming issues due to their culture and belief system.

It was my intention to use the APA Code of Ethics. However due to the fact that I was unable to find standards written explicitly for this type of situation I have resorted back to the NOSHE standards where I knew I would find something related to cultural diversity.

Below you will find the statements that I feel should be considered while working with the culturally diverse family. After reading these statements you will find how I believe they link to the situation.

STATEMENT 4 If it is suspected that danger or harm may occur to the client or to others as a result of a client's behavior, the human service professional acts in an appropriate and professional manner to protect the safety of those individuals. This may involve seeking consultation, supervision, and/or breaking the confidentiality of the relationship.

STATEMENT 8 The client's right to self-determination is protected by human service professionals. They recognize the client's right to receive or refuse services.

STATEMENT 11 Human service professionals keep informed about current social issues as they affect the client and the community. They share that information with clients, groups and community as part of their work.

STATEMENT 12 Human service professionals understand the complex interaction between individuals, their families, the communities in which they live, and society.

STATEMENT 17 Human service professionals provide services without discrimination or preference based on age, ethnicity, culture, race, disability, gender, religion, sexual orientation or socioeconomic status.

STATEMENT 18 Human service professionals are knowledgeable about the cultures and communities within which they practice. They are aware of multiculturalism in society and its impact on the community as well as individuals within the community. They respect individuals and groups, their cultures and beliefs.

STATEMENT 19 Human service professionals are aware of their own cultural backgrounds, beliefs, and values, recognizing the potential for impact on their relationships with others.

STATEMENT 20 Human service professionals are aware of sociopolitical issues that differentially affect clients from diverse backgrounds.

STATEMENT 21 Human service professionals seek the training, experience, education and supervision necessary to ensure their effectiveness in working with culturally diverse client populations.

The above scenario leaves the imagination completely open to interpretation. With this in mind, I have gathered every statement I felt could be considered useful while working with a diverse family. I mean let�s face it, there are so many things that a family can bring on them selves that we could be here for days discussing the variations. So, for time�s sake I�m going to chose a couple and discuss them while referring to the list above.

The 1st cultural difference that comes to mind when I think of this question is income based problems which cause homelessness.

While living in the state of Washington , I met many emigrates from Mexico . Many of these families had husbands who didn�t allow their wives to work. They dominated the family and were strict disciplinarians. Matter a fact I witnessed one Father literally beat his son with a belt from all angles and not care where he hit the child. Their motel room was covered in garbage and when the police arrived they did nothing to the couple. I was in tears and disgusted. I could not understand why the man was allowed to get away with such abusive behavior. This would be the type of situation that the scenario represents.

Obviously Mexico is a country where the husband more or less owns his family and therefore is able to do what he wishes. He nor his family understood why the police was called and that would make it hard for intervention to work. However the fact that the family is currently residing in the United States makes it a social workers job to intervene and there fore he/she must rely on the NOSHE code to guide their actions.

IF I were the social worker of such a case, I would do as statement 19, 20 and 21 say. I would 1st realize where I stood on the issues that surrounded the family. Then I would educate myself on their culture. After that I would ask for guidance from a supervisor on how to handle this delicate situation. However In the mean time I do believe that since the child was being severely beaten (according to American Standards) it would be in the child�s best interest to remove the children until the husband could receive counseling that would help him to adjust to the American laws. Of course I also realize that there is a good possibility that once the child is returned that the family will return to their native country. This is their prerogative and is sadly out of our control.

Now, let�s look at other aspects of the situation; the controlling husband aspect. Yes, he is controlling and will probably refuse any type of help offered. Being controlling isn�t a crime in and of it�s self. From what I read, in Statement 8 he has the right to refuse help. This of course is suggesting that he has not harmed anyone in anyway. However, one he crosses the boundary and engages in harmful acts it no longer is his choice. It becomes the responsibility of the worker, as stated in statement 4, to report such behavior to the authorities and their job to step in.

Over all, the whole outlook seems to be to try to understand my own views and relate them to the client. The greatest good will come if I can separate my own value system and place my judgment in the greater good based on the code of ethics provided. If those ethics are not clear or if I am in doubt I am to ask for help from a superior and receive the education I need to successfully assist the client to the best of my ability. This will ultimately provide not only a better relationship between the client and the therapist but a safe atmosphere for those involved.

You can read older entries by visiting the achieves on the right. Thank You For Visiting!

 

My Photo

About Me:

My name is Jesilyn. I'm a forty year old mysterious spirit. I have survived the depths of poverty; experienced the wrath of wealth, studied psychology & several religions, evolved from a jagged family background where I suffered the hands of abuse, and now I stare life�s challenges in the eye.

The Cast Of this Diary

Favorite Quotes

"The glass isn't half full or half empty. It simply needs a little ice."

"I maybe the queen of broken hearts but I don't stand behind the crown"

"If your ever going to see a rainbow you've got to stand a little rain."

"Good things come to those who wait."

"Life is what you make it."

"When life gives you lemons: Make lemonade!"

 

WARNING:

This is my diary. You are a guest. So, please respect my sacrid space, as you would want someone to respect yours. Remember, I do NOT have to keep a public diary. I do this so that others who have similar situations, do not have to feel alone...

Contact Me:

Email

Notes

Facebook

Blog Archive


2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

(2008 Vacation)

2009

2011

My Other Blogs:

My Life Story

T-E Self Help Library

True Emotions Country Cooking

True-Emotions Poetry

Ask Angel Advice Column

My Research Blog

Fantasy Verses reality V.2

Credits

Graphic/Template

 

Diary Hosted By:

 

 

This Diary Is Written, Maintained, & Copy written By :Jesilyn 2001-Present