Fantasy Verses Reality

 

Columbine; A True Symbol Of Courage

Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009             4:18 a.m.

 

 

On April 20, 1999, Eric Harris and Dylan Kelbold waltz into Columbine High School in Littleton Colorado and executed a well-meditated plan by opening fire, and killing 13 before turning the guns on themselves. Such a tragedy will probably always spark fear, and anxiety as our society attempts to heal, but are we handling our grief in a proper manner, or are we actually adding more coals to the embers of yesterday?

Unlike many Americans, I spent the tenth anniversary of the Columbine catastrophe not only dealing with my own emotions, but also rumbling through numerous articles that were written by different authors around the world. Interestingly enough, everywhere I looked, I seen �memorials�. However, these articles were full of hate and discontent. I say this because people are still incident focused, and full of blame. In other words, they are continuing to pick and chose which elements they want to embrace instead of acknowledging the essentials needed to learn a valuable lesson.

You see, the fact is, there are 15 sets of family members, and 15 circles of friends/associates in Littleton that lost a love one on that day. By refusing to acknowledge such, says that we far from healing. It also means that society in general is endorsing the possibility of future violence. After all, Harris and Kelbold may have been troubled murdering teens, but they were human, and anyone who has ever lost a family member knows that it does not matter how your loss happen, it matters that it hurts!

Therefore, I ask do we have the right to continue to ostracize Harris and Kelbold, or their families. Do we have the right to publicize and use the photos of these boy�s mutilated bodies surrounded by their own brain matter and blood? I believe that if you say yes, you need to re-evaluate your philosophies by asking yourself: How would I feel if the shoe were on the other foot? Would I want society to shun me? NO! Oh and before you even say, �That would never happen to me.� I want you to remember that the Harris and Kelbold families probably thought it could never happen to them either.

In other words, I am soliciting your attention, and asking you to do what I believe that victim Rachael Scott would have done by taking the final steps to eliminate ALL prejudice concerning Columbine. After all, forgiveness is not just a symbol of healing, It is the truest �Symbol of courage�; a symbol that we should be able to display proudly. Of course, I believe the result should include the addition of Harris and Kelbold in EVERY Columbine Memorial. After all, everyone deserves the right to mourn their loss; even the families and friends of Harris and Kelbold.

You can read older entries by visiting the achieves on the right. Thank You For Visiting!

 

My Photo

About Me:

My name is Jesilyn. I'm a forty year old mysterious spirit. I have survived the depths of poverty; experienced the wrath of wealth, studied psychology & several religions, evolved from a jagged family background where I suffered the hands of abuse, and now I stare life�s challenges in the eye.

The Cast Of this Diary

Favorite Quotes

"The glass isn't half full or half empty. It simply needs a little ice."

"I maybe the queen of broken hearts but I don't stand behind the crown"

"If your ever going to see a rainbow you've got to stand a little rain."

"Good things come to those who wait."

"Life is what you make it."

"When life gives you lemons: Make lemonade!"

 

WARNING:

This is my diary. You are a guest. So, please respect my sacrid space, as you would want someone to respect yours. Remember, I do NOT have to keep a public diary. I do this so that others who have similar situations, do not have to feel alone...

Contact Me:

Email

Notes

Facebook

Blog Archive


2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

(2008 Vacation)

2009

2011

My Other Blogs:

My Life Story

T-E Self Help Library

True Emotions Country Cooking

True-Emotions Poetry

Ask Angel Advice Column

My Research Blog

Fantasy Verses reality V.2

Credits

Graphic/Template

 

Diary Hosted By:

 

 

This Diary Is Written, Maintained, & Copy written By :Jesilyn 2001-Present